Seems Right To Me — Even If I Personally Disagree

Rachel Maddow is all incensed that Mississippi has effectively banned abortions by requiring all abortionists to be OB/GYN who have hospital privileges, and, as it happens, no hospital will give such privileges lest no one use their hospital. People have choices.

As Rachel correctly says, the state is not making abortion illegal, it is making abortion unavailable. The law does not deal with availability, it deals with law.

North Dakota and Alabama may soon be following suit with similar laws.

I support abortion rights, and I also support the State of Mississippi. I believe that abortion, which is not addressed in the Constitution, is, under the 10th Amendment, a state issue.

I may disagree with Mississippi, but the Constitution makes abortion a state issue and that’s good enough for me.    I don’t live there and I have no vote on the issue. Mississippi doesn’t care what I think.

Come to think about it, Mississippi doesn’t care what Rachel Maddow thinks, either. Rachel thinks that  federal judge should step in, but I am at a loss to think what a federal judge might do. Mississippi didn’t make abortion illegal, so what is a judge to do — order a hospital to permit any OB/GYN who applies to be given hospital privileges? Order the single abortion clinic in Mississippi to remain open in spite of a law that does not ban abortion? Can a judge order a restaurant, or a muffler shop to stay open?

Now federal judges have a lot of power, and some have exercised enormous power, but the anger in the nation is already palpable, and the administration surely recognizes that. The anger with the Justice Department, in particular is extremely high.

No one knows how long the fuse is.

 

 

 

Speaking Truth To Power

I have never heard of the CEO of Titan International, Maury Taylor, but he wins the Hempillian Seal of Approval, and an immediate Top five ranking in my list of potential presidential candidates for 2016.

Mr. Taylor was asked by the French government to take over a Goodyear tire plant that is losing money and is threatening to close, but Mr. Taylor replied:

“I have visited that factory a couple of times. The French workforce gets paid high wages but only works three hours,” Mr Taylor wrote in a letter to Arnaud Montebourg, French Industrial Renewal Minister, dated February 8 and obtained by French business daily Les Echos.

“They get one hour for breaks and lunch, talk for three and work for three. I told this to the French union workers to their faces. They told me that’s the French way!”

Now, if you want to torque off a nation, Mr. Taylor certainly knows how to do it. Mr. Taylor said he could buy a company in China or India and pay the local wages, and flood France with all the tires it could ever use.”

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/finance/financialcrisis/9882422/US-boss-berates-French-for-three-hour-working-day.html

Someone replied that a French tire company, Michelin, leads the world in technology and innovation and is 25 times larger than Titan Industries.

Absolutely true, and in the interest of full disclosure, both of my vehicles are shoed by Michelin. Michelin has sited plants in the United States since 1907, with current plants in South Carolina and Oklahoma, so my car’s shoes were not made by lazy French workers.

Other than Joy Perfume, I buy nothing French — at least not on purpose.