And I am Still Greener than Al Gore!

Has anyone noticed that the red-hot subject of Global Warming has cooled?

 

As usual, the politicians are way behind the power curve, but almost no one else seems particularly agitated by it, perhaps because there is no current evidence for “anthropologic Global Warming” beyond the predictions.

 

Florida is not yet sinking as per Al Gore’s breathless predictions, tidal waves have not yet engulfed New York City, and the planet appears to be decidedly “normal” or within normal ranges.

 

I am not certain that even if there is Global Whatever, that by replacing my incandescents with CFLs, I can visibly offset the one cola-powered electric plant that China opens each week!

 

Mean while, the Governator continues his frequent private Gulfstream flights from Los Angeles to Sacramento while lecturing on Going Green!

Jury Duty — NOT!

Jean just sent back my Jury Duty summons getting me an excuse for age and medical reasons – so it looks as if I will never serve on a jury.

 

I have tried. Lord, have I tried. I have had one Judge recognize me from the photo on my columns, and dismiss me, “With the thanks of the Court.”

 

A month later, a Judge recognized my wife’s name, asked her is she was married to me, and dismissed her!

 

I have been dismissed by a Prosecutor on a male-on-male rape case, for no apparent reason.

 

I was dismissed from the panel of a case of prostitution when I told the Judge that I could not in all conscience find a 21-year old woman guilty of prostitution because I could not agree with spending tens of thousands of dollars and hundreds of taxpayer jury hours for a $35 offense that was never consummated! At least I got to write a column in the North County Times about that fiasco. (She was found guilty – I should have kept my mouth shut and hung that jury!)

 

Then I was dismissed from a jury panel in a civil case, a charge of Attorney Malpractice, when the Defense Attorney as ked the panel if anyone understood the term, “fiduciary relationship.” I held up my hand. Dismissed!

 

Finally, I was dismissed from a panel on a case of drug possession, transporting weed, and driving under the influence. The Judge asked if all of us could find the Defendant guilty of all counts if it could be proven. I said “NO” – if the defendant could be proven to have had drugs in his possession while driving, the Judge could put him away for life for all I care, but not for “possession.” Why do I care what someone does with their body in the privacy of their home, if they did not commit a crime to get their booze or drugs?

 

Dismissed! Just think of all the havoc I could have created if I could keep my mouth shut, but at least I got to get under the skin of a couple of Judges.